Book Review for “The Murderess” by Jennifer Wells

576d942dd590287909b25a82b09a80b6

*I was sent this book for review by Aria Fiction. All opinions are my own.

To be totally honest mystery stories have never been my favorite genre. They’re usually too slow and just not very interesting to me but The Murderess by Jennifer Wells is not like that at all. This book really does draw you in from the first gruesome scene of a woman being shoved in front of an oncoming train. This is a historical fiction and a mystery story. I’ll give you the synopsis of the book and my thoughts will be at the end. This review will be spoiler free.

The Synopsis

1931: Fifteen year old Kate witnesses her mother, Millicent, push a stranger from a station platform into the path of an oncoming train. There was no warning, seemingly no reason, and absolutely no remorse.

1940: Exactly nine years later, Kate returns to the station and notices a tramp laying flowers on the exact spot that the murder was committed; the identity of the victim, still remains unknown.

With a country torn apart by war and her family estate and name in tatters, Kate has nothing to lose as she attempts to uncover family secrets that date back to the Great War and solve a mystery that blights her family name.

My Thoughts

You can’t help but feel for Kate. Not only did she see her mother commit a brutal murder but from there on she has to live with the stigma of being a murderer’s daughter. The story is written from different points of view which allows you to see into the mind of the main characters. I personally enjoy this because it adds depth to the story. The mystery is not the most complicated to figure out but is interesting nonetheless. The entire book was very well written.

I recommend this book to anyone that enjoys mysteries or historical fiction but it’s a good book even if you don’t typically enjoy mysteries. I’d love to hear what you think about this book! Thank you for reading and have a great day!

 

*All information about Aria Fiction, the author and the book is below!

Jennifer works in Market Research when not writing. She lives in Devon with her young family and cat. The Murderess is her second novel.

Follow Jennifer

Twitter: @jenwellswriter

Facebook: @JenniferWells

About the book

The Murderess is a heart-stopping story of family, love, passion and betrayal set against the backdrop of war-ravaged Britain. Perfect for fans of Lesley Pearce and Dilly Court.

1931: Fifteen year old Kate witnesses her mother Millicent push a stranger from a station platform into the path of an oncoming train. There was no warning, seemingly no reason, and absolutely no remorse.

1940: Exactly nine years later, Kate returns to the station and notices a tramp laying flowers on the exact spot that the murder was committed; the identity of the victim, still remains unknown.

With a country torn apart by war and her family estate and name in tatters, Kate has nothing to lose as she attempts to uncover family secrets that date back to the Great War and solve a mystery that blights her family name.

Buy links

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2xmr71W

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2yMfVb1

iBooks: http://apple.co/2geUxnR

Google Play: http://bit.ly/2fV3FRE

Follow Aria

Website: www.ariafiction.com

Twitter: @aria_fiction

Facebook: @ariafiction

Instagram: @ariafiction

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review for “The Murderess” by Jennifer Wells

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s