Book Review of “A Wedding at Mulberry Lane” by Rosie Clarke

a-wedding-at-mulberry-lane.jpg

*This book was sent to me by Aria Fiction for review. All opinions are my own.

Funny story, when I started reading A Wedding at Mulberry Lane by Rosie Clarke I felt like there were details that I was missing, like this book was a sequel. A few times the characters were talking about different things that had happened and it was written in a way where it seemed like you, as the reader, should know these things. Well, guess what? This book is a sequel and I just wasn’t aware of that, haha. The first book is called The Girls of Mulberry Lane. With that being said, this book was still easy to understand. All of the things you would have learned in the first book are recapped pretty well in this one. I’m going to give the synopsis for the book and then my thoughts. This review will be spoiler free.

The Synopsis

Maureen Jackson knew life as a trainee nurse wouldn’t be easy, but she didn’t expect her hospital to be badly bombed on her first shift. Plus, Maureen still has her family and friends in Mulberry Lane to keep her busy – she’s needed as much there as she is by her patients.

Running the pub on the corner of Mulberry Lane, Peggy Ashley is used to taking in all sorts of waifs and strays. But the arrival of a dashing American captain has got tongues wagging about Mulberry Lane’s favourite landlady…

Janet Ashley’s husband is back from the frontline. Which is more than so many of the wives of Mulberry Lane. But her beloved Mike is a completely different man from the one she fell in love with – and what’s more he doesn’t remember her, or their young daughter. How do you cope when your darling husband is a virtual stranger?

As WW2 continues around them, the women of Mulberry Lane know that community spirit and friendship is the key to surviving the Blitz.

My Thoughts

I really enjoyed this book. Historical fiction is my favorite genre to read so that was just an added bonus. The story was well written, the characters well thought out and it was just overall an entertaining read. I liked it enough that I might go back to actually read the first one, haha.

I would enjoy reading more from Rosie Clarke. This was a wonderful story. If you’re a fan of historical fiction I really think this series would be worth reading. I’m going to leave all the information about Aria Fiction, Rosie Clarke and where to purchase this book below. Let me know if this sounds like a book you’d be interested in! Thank you for reading and have a great day!

 

Author bio

Rosie Clarke was born in Swindon, but moved to Ely in Cambridgeshire at the age of nine. She started writing in 1976, combining this with helping her husband run his antiques shop. In 2004, Rosie was the well-deserved winner of the RNA Romance Award and the Betty Neels Trophy. Rosie also writes as Anne Herries and Cathy Sharp. Find out more at her website: http://www.rosieclarke.co.uk

Book description

Love, marriage, birth, death and betrayal in the East End of London make up life in Mulberry Lane. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Cathy Sharp and Donna Douglas.

Maureen Jackson knew life as a trainee nurse wouldn’t be easy, but she didn’t expect her hospital to be badly bombed on her first shift. Plus Maureen still has her family and friends in Mulberry Lane to keep her busy – she’s needed as much there as she is by her patients.

Running the pub on the corner of Mulberry Lane, Peggy Ashley is used to taking in all sorts of waifs and strays. But the arrival of a dashing American captain has got tongues wagging about Mulberry Lane’s favourite landlady…

Janet Ashley’s husband is back from the frontline. Which is more than so many of the wives of Mulberry Lane. But her beloved Mike is a completely different man from the one she fell in love with – and what’s more he doesn’t remember her, or their young daughter. How do you cope when your darling husband is a virtual stranger?

As WW2 continues around them, the women of Mulberry Lane know that community spirit and friendship is the key to surviving the Blitz.

Links to buy

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2um5o8l

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2zYLGC4

iBooks: http://apple.co/2zrPwnR

Rosie’s previous series, The Workshop Girls is out now: http://amzn.to/2nwLwHT

Follow Aria

Website: www.ariafiction.com

Facebook: @ariafiction

Twitter: @aria_fiction

Instagram: @ariafiction

NetGalley: http://bit.ly/2lkKB0e

Sign up to the Aria newsletter: http://bit.ly/2jQxVtV

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s