Book Review for “The Lightkeeper’s Ball” by Colleen Coble

thumbnail (34)

The Lightkeeper’s Ball is the third and last book in the Mercy Falls series by Colleen Coble. I have really enjoyed this whole series but this book is my favorite of the three. I’ll get more into my thoughts after the synopsis. This review will be spoiler free.


At the elegant Mercy Falls masquerade ball, Olivia’s hidden identity will be revealed.

It is the dawn of a new century and Olivia Stewart is heiress to an empire. Her family numbers among the Four Hundred—those considered the wealthiest and most distinguished in America. Unfortunately their wealth has nearly disappeared, and now their security rests upon the Stewart daughters marrying well.

Olivia’s sister, Eleanor, was engaged to Harrison Bennett, one of the nation’s wealthiest men, but has since died. Now the pressure is on Olivia to take her place, despite her suspicions about Eleanor’s fiancé. Using her family’s long-forgotten English title, Olivia travels to Mercy Falls, California, as Lady Devonworth, hoping to learn more before committing to marriage. There she finds that Eleanor’s death was no accident. And Harrison is not the man she thought he would be.

When Mercy Falls holds a charity masquerade ball to raise funds for the new lighthouse, secrets—and truths long hidden—will be revealed. But can Harrison really love Olivia when he finds her true identity? Can she live with the repercussions of failing her family, or will she finally realize that nothing—not money, family, or romance—will ever compare to God’s unconditional love?

My Thoughts

The Lightkeeper’s Ball was my favorite of the three because in my opinion, it was the most entertaining. I really loved The Lightkeeper’s Daughter and The Lightkeeper’s Bride was just kind of meh but this one was great from start to finish. The mystery was the most intense of the three books. Coble writes mysteries really, really well so all of the mysteries in this series weren’t easy to figure out but this one definitely had a twist I didn’t expect. The romance in this book was also my favorite of the series. In all three books it was obvious who was going to end up with who. In books where you know how the relationship is going to end it’s important that the journey to those two people becoming a couple be well written. I really loved how this book showed the progression of Harrison and Olivia’s relationship. Even though the outcome was obvious, there was still tense moments where things seemed unsure. I enjoyed my journey through Mercy Falls and getting to know all of the characters within it. I’m a sucker for a good happy ending and this series didn’t disappoint.

If you enjoy Christian historical fiction, mystery or romance you will love this series and I highly recommend it. Are you interested in reading this series? Do you know of any other books like this that you think I’d enjoy? Let me know! Thanks for reading and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s